Fresno Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
California Domestic Violence Laws
Although we love our significant other and family members, disagreements can still happen. However, if a verbal fight turns into a physical one, it is possible law enforcement officials will arrest the alleged offender, even if the alleged victim has regrets or made false allegations. That is why it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to protect your rights and freedom from serious criminal charges.
At Sawl Law Group, we are dedicated to helping you avoid the harsh criminal penalties associated with domestic violence charges. Our Fresno domestic violence defense lawyers can thoroughly assess your case, figure out your available legal options, and build a strong defense strategy that proves either the police violated your constitutional rights or the prosecution has a weak case against you. Do not hesitate to get knowledgeable and skilled legal representation immediately.
What is Domestic Violence?
In basic terms, domestic violence occurs when an individual causes physical, mental or emotional harm to another member of their household, either intentionally or through neglect. California Penal Code § 13700(b) defines this violent crime as “abuse committed against an adult or a minor who is a spouse… cohabitant… or person with whom the suspect has had a child or is having or has had a dating or engagement relationship.”
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence?
Following is a basic list of domestic violence crimes and their penalties according to the California Penal Code:
Spousal Abuse - Battery against a spouse is punishable under Pen. Code § 243(e) by up to one year in jail, a maximum fine of $2,000, or both.
Marital Rape - Rape of a spouse is punishable under Pen. Code § 264 by a prison sentence of three, six, or eight years.
Child Abuse - Neglect of a child is a misdemeanor punishable under Pen. Code § 270 by a $2,000 fine, up to one year in jail, or both. Child abuse is punishable under Pen. Code § 273a. by up to one year in jail, or a prison sentence of two, four or six years.
Elder Abuse - Neglect or abuse of an elderly person is punishable under Pen. Code § 368 by up to one year in jail; a maximum fine of $6,000; or both, or a prison sentence of two, three, or four years. Aggravated offenses cause the sentence to vary.
In addition, a conviction for a domestic violence offense can also result in the loss of custody rights and gun rights. Even mere accusations can lead to significant damage to your professional reputation and personal life.
Request a Free Domestic Violence Case Review Today
If you have been accused of domestic violence, an investigation must first be made by the authorities. Before, during and after this investigation, it is vital that you have a defense lawyer on your side to counsel you and ensure that your case is treated fairly. Our Visalia domestic violence defense attorneys have more than 40 years of the collective experience and could obtain the best possible results for your case.
To learn more about our legal services, contact us today.