Fresno Drug Crime Defense Lawyers
Defending Clients Accused of Drug Crimes in Fresno County
Are you facing charges of a drug crime? Consult with our Fresno drug crime defense lawyers at Sawl Law Group as soon as possible. With more than four decades of combined experience, we can help you argue that the drugs in question were not yours or help you avoid harsh penalties and a criminal record by making sure you enter a diversion program. Our team of criminal defense attorneys provides knowledgeable and skilled legal representation to gather the necessary evidence and present a strong defense to prove your innocence.
Have you been arrested for a drug crime in Fresno? Call Sawl Law Group today at (559) 205-7757 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our drug crime defense attorneys in Fresno.
Drug Crimes in California
California is renowned for its high rate of drug trafficking, possession, and distribution. No matter what drug crime it may be, it is likely to be prevalent in our state – not to mention harshly punished.
The penalties for drug crimes in California are classified by schedules. Schedule I drugs (heroin, hallucinogens, opiates, and marijuana) have a high potential for abuse and no valid medical use, while Schedule IV and V drugs (prescription medications like diazepam and zolpidem, as well as low doses of codeine in cough medicine) have a low potential for abuse and widely accepted medical use.
The following are the sections of the California Health & Safety Code for certain drug crimes, as well as their penalties:
Drug Possession (§ 11350) - One year in county jail, $1,000 fine, or community service for a first offense and more years in jail, $2,000 fine, or community service for a second or subsequent offense.
Possession for Sale (§ 11351) - Imprisonment for two, three, or four years; or a sentence of three, four, or five years for possession of cocaine for sale.
Distribution, Transportation & Trafficking (§ 11352) - Imprisonment for three, four, or five years; or a sentence of three, six, or nine years for transporting drugs from one noncontiguous county to another
Is Marijuana Legal in California?
Recreational marijuana in California is legal for adults who are at least 21 years old. However, possession of over 28.5 grams of cannabis by a person 18 years of age or older is considered a misdemeanor. Having an open container in a vehicle can lead to an infraction and possibly a DUI arrest.
Contact Our Drug Crime Attorneys Today
Our firm has sought to provide caring service and vigorous defense to the wrongfully accused. A drug crime conviction could permanently affect your ability to find a job. We could review your case and help you start building your defense. We’ve taken over 100 cases to trial, so you can trust our Fresno drug crime defense attorneys to provide you with the defense that you need.
Contact Sawl Law Group today to get started on your defense with our Fresno drug crime defense lawyers.
We Offer Free Consultations!
We have over 30 years of collective experience fighting for our clients' best possible outcome.